top of page

Sat, Sep 16

|

Northshire Bookstore

Northshire Manchester: Special Story Time with Stephen Swinburne

Northshire Manchester: Special Story Time with Stephen Swinburne
Northshire Manchester: Special Story Time with Stephen Swinburne

Time & Location

Sep 16, 2023, 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM

Northshire Bookstore, 4869 Main St, Manchester Center, VT 05255, USA

About the event

The acclaimed children’s book author will return to our Manchester store to share his two newest picture books - Big Truck Super Wash and Giraffe Math - in what’s sure to be a rollicking good time!

Giraffe Math is a picture book that introduces math concepts through the artful sharing of giraffe facts, for fans of Ten Magic Butterflies and Zero the Hero. Twiga the giraffe introduces young readers to fascinating facts about giraffes and their relationship to other creatures—all by using math concepts such as measurements, graphs, shapes, word problems, and more. This interactive picture book explores these spectacular animals through a STEM lens as everything from their speed and size to their intricate camouflage patterns (which act as internal air conditioning) and other body characteristics are featured. It’s an in-depth look at the animal kingdom’s most beloved gentle giants.

Honk! Honk! Clank! Belch! In Big Truck Super Wash 5 powerful trucks tell how they got so grubby. Everyone needs a good wash occasionally. Even a giant excavator! After a hard day’s work, a garbage truck, a tractor, an 18-wheeler, and more are covered with dirt, slime, manure, mud, and bugs. Off to the Big Truck Super Wash!

Stephen R. Swinburne is a naturalist as well as the author of over thirty books for young readers on the subjects of animals and nature, including Lots and Lots of Zebra Stripes, Safe in a Storm, and Unbreakable Beaks. An accomplished photographer and musician, Steve visits over fifty schools each year and gives book presentations on wildlife and conservation.

If you have questions about this or any other Northshire event, please e-mail us at events@northshire.com.

Share this event

bottom of page